Saudi Arabia

Formula E to Feature Saudi Arabia’s New Diriyah Circuit, Sets Record 17-Race Calendar for Season 11

All-electric racing series Formula E has announced its provisional calendar for season 11 of the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship, featuring its largest-ever edition with 17 races across 11 iconic locations.

Among the highlights is Saudi Arabia’s return to the championship with a new circuit in Diriyah, marking the series’ seventh visit to the kingdom.

The Diriyah double-header races will take place on February 14 and 15 at a new venue, with the track location set to be announced in due course.

“For Season 11, we’re taking electric racing to the next level and doing things never been done before in motorsport,” said Jeff Dodds, CEO of Formula E.

“Our world-leading GEN3 EVO will debut in front of hundreds of millions of fans around the globe, while adding two brand new locations and combinations of double-headers to grow our sport further.”

Among the other highlights of the upcoming season are the first-ever double-header of separate races in Monaco, a historic milestone for the Principality in any motorsport championship.

Additionally, the highly successful inaugural Tokyo E-Prix will be expanded to a double-header, following the overwhelming success of the inaugural race.

The Season 11 campaign will kick off in São Paulo on December 7th, 2024, following pre-season testing in Valencia from November 4 to 7. This will mark the debut of the all-new GEN3 EVO race car, capable of accelerating from 0-60mph in just 1.82 seconds – a remarkable 36 percent faster than the current GEN3.

Other notable additions to the calendar include the return of Miami for the first time since Season 1 in an all-new location at the Homestead-Miami Speedway, and the comeback of Jakarta after a one-year hiatus.

The season will culminate with a double-header finale at ExCeL London on July 26th and 27th, 2025.

ABB FIA Formula E World Championship Calendar 2024/25 so far

11Brazil, São PauloDec 7, 2024
22Mexico, Mexico CityJan 11, 2025
33 and 4Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, DiriyahFeb 14-15, 2025
45TBDMar 8, 2025
56United States of America, MiamiApr 12, 2025
67 and 8Principality of Monaco, MonacoMay 3-4, 2025
79 and 10Japan, Tokyo**May 17-18, 2025**
811 and 12China, ShanghaiMay 31 and Jun 1, 2025
913Indonesia, JakartaJun 21, 2025
1014 and 15Germany, BerlinJul 12-13, 2025
1116 and 17United Kingdom, LondonJul 26-27, 2025


Arabian Business

Related Articles

Back to top button