India: Dhoni, Raina announce retirement from international cricket

- Advertisement -

Indian cricketing star Mahendra Singh Dhoni announced his retirement from international cricket on Saturday.

Following Dhoni into retirement was another Indian star Suresh Raina, who took to Instagram to announce his retirement from international cricket.

Raina joined Dhoni, who had earlier announced that he will no longer play international cricket. Both Raina and Dhoni will represent the Chennai Super Kings in the upcoming edition of the Indian Premier League that starts next month in the UAE.

Raina posted a picture with his CSK teammates and wrote “It was nothing but lovely playing with you, @mahi7781. With my heart full of pride, I choose to join you in this journey. Thank you, India. Jai Hind! “

Dhoni has been one of the best wicketkeepers to play international cricket and his record speaks for itself. The 39-year-old last played for India in the World Cup 2019 semifinal loss to New Zealand at Old Trafford in Manchester, played over two days on July 9 and 10.

READ  Bahrain: Ministry of Education ‘Recruiting Only Bahrainis, Not Foreigners’

“Thanks a lot for ur love and support throughout. From 1929 hrs consider me as Retired,” MS Dhoni wrote along with an Instagram post of a montage capturing his career with the national team.

Dhoni, who had announced his retirement from Tests in 2014, has played 350 ODIs and 98 T20Is. In 350 ODIs, Dhoni has scored 10,773 runs at an average of 50.57. He has 10 centuries and 73 fifties to his name. He has amassed 1,617 runs in 98 T20 internationals at an average of 37.60, including two half-centuries.

READ  How much UAE expats need to save for retirement

In January 2019, Dhoni added another feather to his cap as he became fifth Indian and 12th overall in ODI history to score 10,000 runs. The former Indian skipper achieved the milestone during first ODI against Australia at the Sydney Cricket Ground on Jan. 12.


Dhoni joined the likes of Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, Sourav Ganguly, Kumar Sangakkara, Brian Lara and Sanath Jayasuriya on the elite list.

Dhoni led India to victory in the inaugural edition of World T20 in 2007, followed it with an ODI World Cup triumph in 2011 and then became the only captain to lift all three ICC tournaments by leading India to the Champions Trophy title in 2013. 



- Advertisement -
Back to top button