Kuwait: 32 MPs to boycott government’s swearing-in ceremony

As the new government awaits to take the constitutional oath in front of parliament on Tuesday, so far 32 MPs have announced that they will be boycotting the swearing-in session.

According to legal professionals, only 33 members, out of the 60, need to attend for the session to move forward. The ministers make up one-third of the membership totaling 16, one of which is both an MP and an appointed minister.

While there is no unanimous reason for boycotting the session, since the parliament was formed after the December 5 general election there have been clashes between the legislative and executive branch creating a political deadlock.


Gulf News

Related Articles

Back to top button