Oman suspends entry for travellers from 7 countries

Oman is the latest Gulf country to suspend flights and entry for travellers from seven countries, including South Africa, due to concerns about the new Covid-19 variant.

The travel ban goes into effect from Sunday, November 28. According to the Oman News Agency, the following countries are affected:

  • South Africa
  • Namibia
  • Botswana
  • Zimbabwe
  • Lesotho 
  • Eswatini 
  • Mozambique

Several other Gulf countries, including the UAE, Saudi Arabia and Bahrain, have also taken the same measure to curb the spread of the new strain.

The decision follows Europe halting flight operations from southern Africa. Europe, Canada, Philippines and several other countries also barred flights from these countries early Friday.


Khaleej Times

Related Articles

Back to top button