Qatar crisis – 9 things you need to know

- Advertisement -

Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, the UAE and Egypt broke diplomatic ties with Qatar and cut off air, sea and land access to the country over Doha’s support for “terrorist groups aiming to destabilise the region”.

Here’s 9 key details from today’s developments:

1. Riyadh said they took decisive action as a result of grave violations being committed by the authorities in Doha. Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, the UAE and Egypt taking the decisive measures as a result of the Qatari authorities’ failure to abide by the Riyadh Agreement

2. Flights from Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, UAE and Egypt airlines to and from Qatar will be suspended from Tuesday. National airspace and sea ports will be closed for Qatari aircraft and vessels.

3 The UAE, Saudi and Bahrain have given Qatari nationals 14 days to leave their respective countries, and diplomats 48 hours to exit.

4. Qatari nationals will not be allowed to enter or transit through Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, the UAE and Egypt, whose nationals are also prevented from travel to or through Qatar.

5. Qatar imports 90 per cent of its food, mostly through the land border with Saudi Arabia leading to a rush on food supplies at Doha supermarkets.

6. The Qatar Stock Exchange fell 7.27 per cent, erasing nearly 30 billion Qatari riyals off the market cap of the index.

7. Closure of ports and road links could have an impact on Qatar’s construction markets.

8. Oil prices rose by 1.6 per cent to US$50.74 a barrel in the morning, but traded just below $50 a barrel in the early afternoon.

9. Qatari pilgrims can still perform Umrah and Haj.


- Advertisement -