Citizens from 54 Countries Eligible to travel to EU by July 1

Image credits: Reuters
- Advertisement -

Citizens from 54 countries will be able to enter Schengen countries once the European Union (EU) borders open by the beginning of July. Schengen refers to the EU passport-free zone that covers most of the European countries and allows a person to travel to any member-state of the Schengen Area.

There are no border controls within the Schengen Zone. Ahead of its official release later this week, which is expected to be implemented after July 1, EU officials said the list will be updated according to the epidemiological situation and response to coronavirus in each country, the ability to apply containment measures during travel and whether or not the country concerned has lifted travel restrictions towards the EU.

READ  Gulf Air: Only 1% of Passengers Affected Due To Cancellation Of Services

Eligible countries Citizens of the following countries are listed in this draft list: Albania Algeria Andorra Angola Australia Bahamas Bhutan Bosnia and Herzegovina Canada China Costa Rica Cuba Democratic People’s Republic of Korea Dominica Egypt Ethiopia Georgia Guyana India Indonesia Jamaica Japan Kazakhstan Kosovo Lebanon Mauritius Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Morocco Mozambique Myanmar Namibia New Zealand Nicaragua Palau Paraguay Rwanda Saint Lucia Serbia South Korea Tajikistan Thailand Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Uganda Ukraine Uruguay Uzbekistan Vatican City Venezuela Vietnam Zambia

READ  Emirates: The Second-Most Punctual Airline In Middle East

On June 11, the European Commission (EC) presented its recommendation on the reopening of internal Schengen borders from June 15 so that Europeans can travel within the borderless area freely, just as they did during the pre-pandemic days, according to

The EC also recommended that the member-states should start allowing third-country nationals to enter the EU starting from July 1, gradually and partially, based on the epidemiological situation in the third country concerned.


- Advertisement -