Sheikh Mohammed Bin Abdulrahman Made Qatar’s New Prime Minister

Qatari Emir Sheikh Tamim bin Hamad Al Thani has appointed Sheikh Mohammed bin Abdulrahman Al Thani as Prime Minister, according to an emiri decree.

Sheikh Khalid bin Khalifa bin Abdul Aziz Al Thani submitted his resignation from the prime ministerial post to the Emir on Tuesday.

Sheikh Tamim issued a decree forming the next cabinet of ministers under Prime Minister Sheikh Mohammed, who will also continue in his role as Foreign Minister.

Dr Khalid bin Mohammed Al Attiyah will take on the role of Deputy Prime Minister, alongside his post as Minister of State for Defence Affairs.

Sheikh Tamim also named central bank governor Sheikh Bandar bin Mohamed bin Saud Al Thani as chairman of Qatar Investment Authority, his office said on Tuesday.

Who is Sheikh Mohammed bin Abdulrahman?

Sheikh Mohammed had been Qatar’s Minister of Foreign Affairs since January 2016. He was also appointed Qatar’s Deputy Prime Minister in November 2017.

He has served as chairman of Qatar Investment Authority since 2018, chairman of Qatar Fund for Development since 2014 and member of Qatar’s Supreme Council for Economic Affairs and Investments.

Sheikh Mohammed began his career working as an economic researcher in the Supreme Council for Family Affairs in 2003. He later became the director of economic affairs from 2005 to 2009.

In 2009, he was appointed director of the Small and Medium Enterprises Support Project, as well as director of the Department of Public and Private Sectors Partnership at the Ministry of Business and Trade.

In the same year, he launched Enterprise Qatar, an organisation that provides technical and financial support for small and medium-sized businesses.

He served as the Secretary of the Personal Representative of Qatar’s Father Emir Sheikh Hamad bin Khalifa Al Thani in 2010 as part of the Emiri Diwan. In the same year, he was appointed deputy chairman of the board of directors of Qatar Mining Company.

In 2013, Sheikh Mohammed was appointed Assistant Foreign Minister for International Co-operation Affairs.



Related Articles

Back to top button