WhatsApp has announced a major new feature for voice messages and recordings.
The self-destruct voice message feature will automatically delete after being played one time.
This is the latest View Once feature on WhatsApp, following the introduction of single-view photos and videos in 2021.
New WhatsApp feature announced
The Meta-owned app announced the new service on its blog, saying the addition will add another layer of privacy to messages.
View Once voice messages are rolling out globally over the coming days.
In a statement, WhatsApp said: “For reading out your credit card details to a friend, or when you’re planning a surprise, you can now also share sensitive information over voice message with added peace of mind.
“For consistency with View Once photos and videos, View Once voice messages are clearly marked with the “one-time” icon and can only be played one time.
“As with all your personal messages, WhatsApp protects your voice messages with end-to-end encryption by default, and View Once is just another example of our continued privacy innovation”
The company said that once the message is received, users have 14 days to open or it will expire from the chat.
It is also working on another feature that allows its voice messages to be turned into texts when users can’t listen to them..